Beautiful Mag Summer Shoot

This blog will primarily be about my experiences at University, so before I start I wanted to show you some of my previous work.

My biggest achievement as a learning make up artist to date has to be my day with the team at Beautiful Magazine!

This incredible work experience came along in the summer of 2012, I met the fashion editor a couple of years previous when I spent a summer in Cyprus. Little did we know back then, when we were both working as waitresses without a clue or a second thought about our future, that our paths would cross again.

Zoe (the fashion editor at beautiful) got in touch via Facebook when the hair and make up stylist they had organised for the shoot pulled out! Although I was more than happy and excited to contribute, I couldn’t help but worry that my hair styling skills weren’t quite as well practised as they should have been for such a professional shoot.

I asked Natalie Borrows, ( a friend from my make up course ) if she would come along to focus on the hair styling side of things so I could concentrate on the makeup. Happily she obliged, this was my first real big work experience and having someone with me made me feel so much more relaxed!

The shoot was in Wales! Llandudno!

So many of the skills and personality traits I had been advised a make up artist needed came into practise that day!

Number 1: A driving license – with the shoot being so far away I had to drive! If it wasn’t for sat nav I doubt we would have ever found it!

Number 2: Early mornings and late finishes – as we had so many different looks to get through we had to be on site for 7am! Several alarms were set that morning! I think we finally wrapped things up about 6!

Number 3: Organisation and time keeping – for all of the above!

Number 4: Be prepared for cold weather – Llandudno is a seaside resort and we didn’t pick the sunniest of days, as you can see below some of the shoots were right by the sea and its safe to say that mine and Nats toes were numb for most of the day!

Number 5: Teamwork – As we were working in such a small team, sometimes it was down to Nat and I to help dress the model and hold the photography equipment.

“Teamwork makes a Dreamwork”

Overall I thoroughly enjoyed the day! We didn’t get paid for our services but seeing my name in the credits on Beautiful Magazines website was priceless!

.

Leave a Reply

